Finding Courage

As I sit here writing this very post, I have my universities list of majors and colleges pulled up on the left hand side of the screen. I have stared at this exact page, countless times, just hoping that my prayers will be answered and suddenly I will know exactly which career path to choose and I will have discovered my life’s passion.

Alas, no such career inspirations have jumped out at me. Well, except for one. I click again on the “Bachelor’s in English with a Creative Writing Option” and read the course description. I imagine my life as a successful author, editor, or journalist. I envision spending my life surrounded by books, creativity, and a passion for words that never dies. All I do is hope that I have the courage to take this path!

For years I have convinced myself that I want to be a teacher. I have always had a passion for education and I have always wanted to make sure that when I leave college I will have a job lined up. Teaching is a safe way to go and I know that in my heart. I believe that I could have so much more and do something that I am truly passionate about.

So what has sparked this sudden bravery and possible change in major? Well let’s start from the beginning.

My sister Erica has a passion for horse riding. I have watched her grow into a strong and talented rider from the age of three. And now, at the ripe young age of eighteen, she has been offered a job at a quality horse barn where she will make countless new connections and be able to work with the animals she loves while learning and making new memories and gaining experience in the field she wants to pursue. I am absolutely over the moon for her and I cannot wait to see how this job turns out for her!

Watching her talk about this new job left me feeling jealous. I am jealous that she knows whole heartedly what she wants to do with her life and that she’s not afraid to give up her comfortable job and college career to follow it. This feeling of jealousy made me realize that I do not want to teach. I want to follow my heart and pursue my goals of writing. I want to reach people with my words, share stories, and create communities through books and articles. I feel invigorated and excited to finally have the courage to pursue this option in my life.

I think it’s important to believe in yourself and truly follow your heart. When it comes down to it, I know that I will have the courage to pursue the dreams that I have for myself and live the life that I have dreamt of.

 

“What a wonderful thought it is that some of the best days of our lives haven’t happened yet.”

Leave a comment